‘Full House’ Star Speaks at Church

Story from News and Sentinel WV

Actress Candace Cameron Bure, best known for her performance as Donna Jo “D.J.” Tanner on the long-running television sit-com “Full House,” spoke to a full-house crowd Sunday at North Parkersburg Baptist Church about her relationship with God.

During her early teenage years, Bure attended church, but it wasn’t until she was a young adult on her own that it all sank in, she said.

“When I stood back and looked at myself, I thought, ‘You know, I am a very good person.’ When I did something my conscience told me was wrong, I just asked God to forgive me. I thought He had to do that because I asked him into my heart. So, I lived my life in a repeating cycle of sin, then asking God to excuse it. I was a false convert, after coming to understand Biblical repentance, I became a true convert,” Bure said.

Her epiphany came when reading a book suggested by her well-known brother, former “Growing Pains” star Kirk Cameron. The book was “Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth’s Last Days,” of which her brother was starring in a film adaptation. It was the character of a church pastor who is left behind in the Christian rapture that caused her to think.

“I thought, ‘How could a pastor be left behind.’ I thought maybe these people had never read the Bible, but since my brother was doing the movie, I thought I’d read the book,” she said.

As Bure read, she began to see parallels of herself in the book’s pastor, who eventually realized it was church that he had served in his own way, not God.

“After I read that, I said ‘That’s me.’ That’s exactly what I’m doing,” she recalled.

Another book, “The Way of the Master,” helped her understand the rules of life.

“I knew my brother was walking the Christian life, he was producing fruit, when he said ‘This is a book that opened my eyes,’ I knew it was something I should look at,” she said.

Bure is married to former Russian ice hockey player Valeri Bure. They have three children and Bure considers caring for her family her primary responsibility.

Since saying her vows a little more than 10 years ago, Bure has limited her work in film and television with occasional roles, such as being the host of the E! Network’s “50 Cutest Child Stars: All Grown Up” and the occasional television movie. She also does occasional speaking engagements with her ministry and is a monthly columnist for Christian Women Online magazine.

“I want to be home with my family and I’ve turned down a lot of work. The television movies are perfect for me and my family. You do it in three weeks, I can do that once in a while. I love acting, but being home with my husband and children is a wonderful job,” she said.

She recently completed a film with Randy Travis called “The Wager,” which is due in theaters this summer.

Del.icio.us : , , , , , ,
Zooomr : , , , , , ,
Technorati : , , , , , ,
Flickr : , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

